Ministry of Education Special Awards 2018

MOE Special Awards 2018

In a presentation ceremony on 14 August 2018, Ong Chong Yu (18-A1) was awarded the Prime Minister's Book Prize and Megan Choo (18-O4) was the recipient of the Lee Kuan Yew Award for Mathematics and Science. The college congratulates both students for their outstanding achievements and holistic excellence. They follow in the footsteps of two students from our first cohort, Khok Jie Ming (17-O2) who received the Prime Minister's Book Prize and Benjamin Soh (17-U3) who was awarded the Lee Kuan Yew Award for All-Round Excellence in 2017.


Ong Chong Yu (18-A1)

The Prime Minister's Book Prize was established in 1974 as an award for bilingual excellence given to students at primary, secondary and pre-university levels. Chong Yu is an alumnus of our Joint Integrated Programme partner school Catholic High School.

"The award motivates me to strive for what I am passionate about. I enjoy the challenge of navigating two languages and I am always learning new perspectives and experiences from the two cultures. I am especially grateful for my secondary school teachers in Catholic High as they always pushed us to seek these opportunities and develop our interests and strengths."


Choo Ming-Hui, Megan (18-O4)

The Lee Kuan Yew Award for Mathematics and Science was first presented in 1992 and is given to secondary, pre-university and polytechnic students. Megan is an alumna of our Joint Integrated Programme partner school CHIJ St Nicholas Girls' School.

"Receiving this award is a humbling experience. I feel fortunate to have been nominated for the award in the first place. Science used to be one of my weakest subjects, and I have been blessed to have good teachers and my parents journeying alongside me as I sought to improve. For me, this award recognises the support and encouragement I have received from my family, teachers and classmates as much as my own effort."